html posts

Suggest improvements to the forum.
Post Reply
dougp
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Tasmania

html posts

Post by dougp » Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:10 am

Hey Ben,

Why do html posts work in preview, but not in real posts? i was trying to make a table using html, it worked in preview but not once it had actually been posted.

User avatar
Fraser
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:00 am
Location: Sol III
Contact:

Post by Fraser » Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:48 pm

Doug have you checked your profile options?

I couldn't read the original Tichu comp table until I changed my profile settings to "Always Allow HTML"
No jpegs were harmed in the making of this post.

User avatar
bsmith
Site Admin
Posts: 1338
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 1:20 am
Location: The Dust Bowl

Post by bsmith » Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:17 pm

Thanks Fraser. Sounds like the most likely cause.
I'll also add that for security reasons only a handful of html tags are allowed (b,i,u,pre,table,td,tr,col).

I would allow more if I could be bothered figuring out how much of a security risk they actually are :)

User avatar
TaleSpinner
Posts: 897
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:22 am
Location: Wantirna South, Melbourne
Contact:

Post by TaleSpinner » Tue May 08, 2007 4:31 pm

Okay, I've set my "Always allow HTML" on, but I'm still not able to post any tables in the forum. :p

Perhaps a special table BB MOD is in order?

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... ble+bbcode

dougp
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Tasmania

Post by dougp » Tue May 08, 2007 4:39 pm

I worked out how to do it. You just have to put all the html on one line, because phpbb adds a <br> tag on every newline. In the end I couldn't be bothered. bbcode support for tables would be better.

User avatar
TaleSpinner
Posts: 897
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:22 am
Location: Wantirna South, Melbourne
Contact:

Post by TaleSpinner » Tue May 08, 2007 4:40 pm

<TABLE border="1"><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>3</TD></TR></TABLE>

Ah. Finally, some love.

dougp
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Tasmania

Post by dougp » Tue May 08, 2007 4:42 pm

<table border=1>
<tr>
<td>test</td><td>test2</td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td>test3</td><td>test4</td>
</tr>

</table>

testing....
sdafsd
sdf
safd
sadf


It seems to work if you disable bbcode...

No, acutally the reason you have to put it all on one line is that if you don't, all the <br>s get generated anyway, and get put outside the table. So you end up with huge gaps in the post that you probably don't want.

User avatar
bsmith
Site Admin
Posts: 1338
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 1:20 am
Location: The Dust Bowl

Post by bsmith » Wed May 09, 2007 8:02 pm

Yeah I gave up after mucking around with it for a while. I recon tables look crap unless you get the styles right; and that would mean even more screwing around with how PHPBB works. :wall:

So at least for me, it's no loss!

Post Reply