Where are all the gamers???

Looking for a game in your area? Post games you are looking for, or games you are looking to include others in.
Arlyansor

Where are all the gamers???

Post by Arlyansor » Sat Aug 17, 2013 6:03 pm

Growing up in Darwin, and then living in Brisbane for years, I was constantly told by friends and gaming acquaintances that Melbourne was the place to go for gaming in Australia.

Well, I've finally made it to Melbourne, and I find that it's very, very hard to find gamers, let alone find a game!

I am currently living on the West side (Werribee) and I am finding it very hard to get any kind of gaming fix, let alone a regular one.

There are a few games on meetup.com but they are either full up, or so volatile in terms of the day to be played that there's not really any point in joining..

On top of that, as a poor student, I cannot afford to travel across Melbourne (I needed to catch three trains, and then two buses to get to one potential game!) to attend a game in Dandenong or similar (alas, I do not possess that wonder or wonders, a car...) unless I am damned sure it is going to actually be running.

SO, where in Melbourne are all the gamers hiding?

crikeythecat

Re: Where are all the gamers???

Post by crikeythecat » Sat Aug 17, 2013 9:33 pm

Well these forums are a pretty good spot to start.

If you want:
- a weekly fix Part 1: Gamers@Dockers - every Thursday at Good Games in the city (central CBD). I live in Werribee and attend almost every Thursday so if you need a lift home you might be lucky.
- a weekly fix Part 2: Billabong Boardgamers - every Tuesday near Chadstone...not so easy from Werribee on public transport
- a fortnightly fix Part 1: Royal Standard - every second Wednesday....North Melbourne, next to Vic Market, pretty close to Train station. Yes its on meetup, but Ive never had any trouble getting in.
- a fortnightly fix Part 2: EuroGamesFest - 1st & 3rd Sunday

and then theres:
- Cafe Games, monthly